British Rap Anyone?


So I’ve discovered a lot of new music lately, and I thought to myself,”Which perfect place can I share my music discoveries? What about a blog? And look! I have a blog!”

So here it is!

  1. I Need You Tonight- Professor Green ft. Ed Drewett: This is just an all-round generally very fun song to dance to for me. I discovered this one afternoon when MTV was on in the background,Ā  suddenly the catchy intro caught my attention and I looked at the TV. And awesomeness! The video is great and funny and very unusual, and the whole song is just so quirky! I understand that it borrows a little from an old INXS song, but I love it all the same. My favorite bit is chorus and when he talks to the girl on the phone. XD
  2. Islands- The xx: I discovered this when a friend of mine posted the video link on Facebook. I love the funky electronic feel to it, and although this isn’t generally what I usually listen to (I prefer songs that are upbeat usually XD) but the video was so intriguing and amazing, it just blew me away! Shakira did a cover of this… and a bit of it was leaked out I think, but I like Shakira’s version too! The electric guitar here is amazing as is the drum beat. I LIKE! šŸ˜€
  3. Number 1- Dappy ft. Tinchy Stryder: Now, I suppose all of you will think I have a thing for British hip hop, and I think I do! It is just so different from the generic, crude-lyricked, radio-friendly stuff that is usually churned out. And Tinchy Stryder is my absolute favorite, right up there with Dizzee Rascal and M.I.A. This song I’d heard a long time ago and dismissed it, but then just a few weeks back, I was watching Reggie Yate’s Top Urban Acts of the Decade, or something along those lines, and I saw the vid again! And I liked it! It’s a great great song, and my only peeve is that it’s only three minutes long! Haha. šŸ™‚
  4. Take Me Back- Taio Cruz: How can I make a list of my favorite songs and not include Taio Cruz? Seriously, this man is GOD, and I am going to be his future wifey. The first song I’d heard from him was Break Your Heart ft. Ludacris and I literally, fell head over heels in love with that song. It was so dance-worthy and he is so good looking that it soon became a top favorite. Now this song was originally by Tinchy Stryder featuring Taio Cruz, but this version is with Taio Cruz only from his new album, Rokstarr (I think). And I love it because his vocals are so smooth and sultry. LOVE LOVE LOVE. šŸ˜€ I couldn’t find the video for this, so I’m posting the one featuring Tinchy Stryder. šŸ™‚

Well, that’s pretty much it, but I’m sure I’ll do another music-themed post soon! This time featuring other genres too, rather than just British hip hop XD.

This entry was posted in Popculture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

